ALERT

[WEBINAR] Embedded Analytics for Today's Information Workers

Enterprise Wipe

Definition - What does Enterprise Wipe mean?

An enterprise wipe is the successful deletion of enterprise-related data on a device while keeping some kinds of personal data intact. The enterprise wipe can also be called a selective wipe in that it targets the specific kinds of data and processes that are typically related to enterprise or business use, rather than deleting everything on a device.

Within the field of mobile device management, the enterprise wipe and other selective wipe tools can be helpful in giving businesses more sophisticated ways to protect their data while allowing remote access for employees.

Techopedia explains Enterprise Wipe

The idea behind the enterprise wipe is that some users may carry a device that has both personal and business data. The big rise of "bring your own device" mobile strategy is contributing to the common practice of carrying around phones or other devices with this kind of hybrid data and use. This requires a more targeted way to erase information related to a business or enterprise. Older kinds of auto-delete programs were often called remote wipes, and these would simply delete everything on a device. By contrast, an enterprise wipe takes the sorts of features and data sets that are related to company use and targets them for erasure. For example, an enterprise wipe may delete various elements of VPN connections, business related passwords, any data files that are marked by a corporate download process or other kinds of business-related data. It can be relatively easy for programmers to set up an enterprise wipe that avoids deleting personal data, such as personal photos stored in the factory-direct photo storage features of a smartphone or device. That’s because these elements are rarely business-related and are typically flagged for personal use.



Share this: