Closed User Group

What Does Closed User Group Mean?

A closed user group (CUG) is a group configuration that limits access beyond the defined set of group members. This type of setup can be useful in digital and telecommunications service designs.

Advertisements

Techopedia Explains Closed User Group

Although CUG may be used to refer to an exclusive service that is deliberately closed to benefit its members, most definitions of it involve restrictions that are put on the members themselves. In the telecommunications industry, for example, CUG members can only make and receive calls within the user group. Service providers use a CUG to provide value for cost and to present additional options to customers.

Advertisements

Related Terms

Margaret Rouse
Technology Expert

Margaret is an award-winning technical writer and teacher known for her ability to explain complex technical subjects to a non-technical business audience. Over the past twenty years, her IT definitions have been published by Que in an encyclopedia of technology terms and cited in articles by the New York Times, Time Magazine, USA Today, ZDNet, PC Magazine, and Discovery Magazine. She joined Techopedia in 2011. Margaret's idea of a fun day is helping IT and business professionals learn to speak each other’s highly specialized languages.