Tech moves fast! Stay ahead of the curve with Techopedia!
Join nearly 200,000 subscribers who receive actionable tech insights from Techopedia.
In Windows, the Recycle Bin is a folder or directory where deleted items are temporarily stored. Deleted files are not permanently removed from the hard drive but are sent instead to the Recycle Bin, unless they are too large. The files in the Recycle Bin can be restored to their original location. They cannot be used directly while they are in the Recycle Bin.
The Recycle Bin is available in all versions of Windows starting with Windows 95.
The Recycle Bin comes in handy when an item has been accidentally deleted. When a file is deleted, the system does not actually remove it from the system; it sends it instead to the Recycle Bin where it can be restored if necessary. If a file is deleted from the Recycle Bin, it is permanently deleted and cannot be recovered. Moreover, if a file in Windows is deleted through the DOS Command Prompt, it is also deleted permanently rather than sent to the Recycle Bin. Users can configure their settings such that a deleted file or folder is not sent to the Recycle Bin once deleted.
Do you work in the tech industry? Help us learn more about why the gender gap still exists in tech by taking this quick survey! Survey respondents will also be entered to win a $100 Amazon Gift Card!