What Does Application Sharing Mean?
Application sharing is the process of permitting a moderator to share applications or a desktop with other remote members and grant those members control of shared applications.
Application sharing relies on screen-sharing technology, which uses the Internet to allow users to remotely view and control software applications on a central host computer. The best part of using application sharing technology is that remote users can easily run software not installed on their systems, and even software that’s not compatible with their operating system or requires more processing power than their computer has. This is because remote users are literally viewing and controlling applications installed on the host computer.
Application sharing is the foundation of online training and demonstrations and is frequently used by businesses to reduce the amount of travel for employees.
Techopedia Explains Application Sharing
In application sharing, access is granted to clients or participants based on application sharing software architecture. If the software permits shared contents to be accessed from the Web, host users define and provide the username and passwords to remote users who wish to participate in the program. These clients can further enter login credentials on the website to access shared resources. On the other hand, if software is required on either end to access a shared application, granting access is based on mechanisms in the software along with user authentication. Shared applications can also be accessed using a permissions-based approach, which ensures that the application can’t be accessed without any direct live approval.
Two types of access granted to remote users in application sharing are control access and view access. Control access specifies the permission granted to host users to control, edit and manipulate shared contents; these permissions can be revoked at any time. The keyboard and mouse are generally remotely controlled during a remote control session. When view access is granted to remote users, they can only passively view shared contents, but will not have the ability to control or modify them.